Hello Folks!

This is my very first blog!  Just getting started, but once I get the hang of it, I’ll be posting a variety of notes along with images about my experiences in nature and the lessons I’ve learned as a nature photographer, naturalist, and father.  Hope you enjoy!  Thanks – Jim Clark

15 responses to “Hello Folks!

  1. Jim, loving your new blog and photos. You capture just the right moment to press the shutter! Always Spectacular shots!

  2. Jim, I am fascinated to be in the midst of our natural wonders; however, my enjoyment is quickly curtailed by attacks from annoying cannibalistic insects! How can I avoid these biting, blood-sucking creatures? Thank you

    • Hey Shirl – Such is the nature of being in nature! Yeah, those biting and sucking bugs can put a damper on things. When I worked in Alaska, I would go out for two week long waterfowl surveys during the summer months along the Yukon River floodplain on the Yukon Flats National Wildlife Refuge (fyi – the refuge is half the size of West Virginia) and we were daily accosted with mosquitos during the month of June. We just dealt with it — wearing long sleeves, using DEET sprays, head nets, etc. At night I had to put plugs of cotton in my ears so I would not hear their constant buzzing. After our day-long surveys of the many wetlands we had to explore, we would paddle our canoes or rafts out to the middle of a large lake and just stay until we got tired. Good way to catch up on my reading (my favorite was the Once and Future King – reading it while just above the Arctic Circle). Our major concern, however, was encountering an unsuspecting black or grizzly bear, which happened quite a bit. Anyway, the same applies to the lower 48 situation…Bug spray, long sleeves, etc. I was often told while in Alaska not to eat bananas as they attracted the mosquitos, but I think that was more myth than reality (I do tell folks about this during my workshops just to see the reaction of someone who has just eaten a banana). One thing I have noticed is if anyone has used hairspray, perfume or scented soaps before going out to photograph with me, they are the ones getting attacked more. Maybe I’m use to it, but I don’t seemed to be bothered as much, although at times when photographing along the coast, I can get annoyed as well. So, it goes with the territory, but what a great territory to be in.

      • Thanks much; the inclusion of the ribbon of personal experiences in your response made it well worth the read. I look forward to other reader questions and your answers.

  3. Thanks much; the inclusion of the ribbon of personal experiences in your response made it well worth the read. I look forward to other reader questions and your answers.

Leave a Reply

